Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-30 - 8:42 a.m.

"If you're going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair."

Yeah, right, and they'd be blown right off by the cold wind that hit my face as I was leaving my apartment and heading for my car. What a difference a day makes. It was sweltering hot yesterday, sunbathers were laying out at the park, and now we're all bundled up, shivering in the wind and wondering where the sun went.

And it's not getting any better. It won't for a few months - it was even announced that it might rain on Halloween. Halloween?! It's not fair - M and I were planning to put out a fake graveyard and fog machine in the back yard of the bar she works for, but we probably can't if it rains. Big bummer for the Castro, too.

I was planning to wake up early and catch the train, but I had to have that last margarita at La Rondalla. Now I need to jump in my car and ride down the peninsula to work. I knew living in the city and working almost forty miles away would be a challenge, but wow, it's hard to get off your driving habit.

I actually like taking the Caltrain. I love driving, but I hate commuting - there's a big difference. I can relax on the train, take a laptop, and even do a little work. I don't arrive all stressed out, my hands sometimes hurt from gripping my steering wheel so hard. Oh, and the cost of gas in California is also a good incentive for public transit, too. I just have trouble waking up early enough to make the train efficient. The trains leave more frequently at that time, and I can justify leaving earlier from work as well.

I'll get there some day. I just dilly-dallied too much this morning, reading e-mail and bboards. Now I have to get in and bring my office laptop so another co-working can use it for a presentation. I can't wait until my office buys me one for my own use.

Last night was J's b-day party at Nap's. M bought him a cake, I contributed to a group pizza, and A made some yummy lasagna. M spent most of the afternoon rearranging some of the stuff we worked on yesterday, and adding more Halloween decorations. I tried to buy some more goodies, but they were literally out of spiders and rats at the Spirit Store in Menlo Park. How could they run out of that stuff? I know of another one on Van Ness, and the Halloween headquarters across the street. Maybe I'll get lucky....

0 comments so far

music:

cold, it's almost the weekend, so there should be lots of activity

night life:

plan to check out my darling Krissy at Diva Darlings

sex life:

still haven't called T, implementing M's advice.....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!