Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-02-17 - 10:08 a.m.

It's a beautiful day, one of the few we'll have this month. I'm listening to my 10 at 10 marathon - it's on every Saturday morning.

I've been listening to 10 at 10 for 25 years. I don't know how I found it. I was probably just surfing the radio one morning as a freshman in college, trying to adjust to life in San Francisco. I always liked older rock, and I was delighted to find KFOG. It played a good mix of old and new rock. However, I remember that they played way too much Who back then.

For those of you who aren't in the San Francisco Bay area, you can now find KFOG at kfog.com. Streaming on the internet! What a world and how much it's changed....

10 at 10 plays "ten great songs from one great year." Right now, they're playing 10 songs from 1989. In between songs, they play audio clips of news and events at the time. It's a weird way of revisiting a year in your past. It's bringing up so many memories. Right now, they're playing "Love Song," by the Cure. I remember just how big Disintegration was. The audio clips are from the US invasion of Panama. It reminds me that the next year we attacked Iraq. Funny how things just don't change.

I remember back in 1982 and 83, listening to 10 at 10. They'd play sets from the 1960's, and I remembering wondering what life was like back then, if the times were as exciting and scary as it sounded. Now I wonder if people today listen to stuff from the 80's and 90's, and wonder the same thing.

I sometimes find it funny though, thinking that a lot of the popular songs they play now from the past would never have been played on the station at the time, since KFOG didn't really embrace a lot of new wave at the time.

Anyway....

On another note, I got invited to an underground party. Well, not really underground, since there were at least a dozen people hanging in front of the place, but it wasn't at a club. It wasn't anything really great, in fact, I was starting to feel quite old there.

To be continued....

0 comments so far

music:

Sowing the Seeds of Love, Tears for Fears

night life:

Depends on the day, let's just say I don't have plans.

sex life:

I just had a little too much fun in front of my PC today . ;-)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!