Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-02 - 11:17 a.m.

The coffee ain't working.

I left the blinds open yesterday afternoon, so once the sun got bright enough, I just couldn't stay asleep. Not a good morning for a night-crawler. That's what I get for insisting on a room with a view.

I got to the shelter around 3, after a particularly frustrating day of waiting for muni buses. It's always the same pattern. I wait, I wait, and I wait, and I get tired of it, so I walk to stay warm. As I get near my destination, two 22 Fillmores finally show up, the first bus packed, the one behind virtually empty. That's great service for my dollar.

Yes, I need to walk to stay warm. It's been freakin' cold. Okay, not really cold like it's getting in the rest of the country, but it's a sudden drop compared to what we were spoiled with over the last few weeks.

Anyway, back to the shelter. There were virtually no visitors when I got there - adoptions have been sucking lately. Every day I worked there, I was disappointed - lot's of visits, people have been very kind, but not enough commitments to help you feel like you're making real change. Things changed around 4 - it just seemed like lots of people started streaming in, I think I was able to close the deal on about three adoptions - my best day in a while.

My favorite kitty, Fern, is Cindy Lou now. They change names periodically in an attempt to make the cat more attractive to visitors. Fern was an odd name for a girl. She went home once already, but was promptly returned because she's just a little too hyper for the casual cat owner. You need to structure at least a half-hour to 45 minutes of play time to help her expend her energy, and she has a habit of nipping that needs to be deal with. I have a feeling it's going to be a long stay at the shelter for her.

Got to M's bar close to 7. It's getting hard to get used to the time change - the early darkness, the cold, it's all coming too fast. What's next, Christmas? I dread the thought. J, my friend from the bar next door shows up to chill for a while, she's already more than a little out of it, after talking for a long while, she persuades me to go out in the back patio of the bar to smoke a little yerba buena in the dark. It takes a while to hit, and when it does, it hits big. She's got some good stuff, that girl. My sense become sharper while my conciousness fades - I'm more aware of the harshness of the tequila I'm drinking, the cold of the bar, the fact that I haven't eaten in hours, so I finally take off before I make too big a fool of myself.

It's time for a movie! I catch the 14 to the Metreon and buy a ticket for Kill Bill. What a bloody mess! I loved it! Everything from the action to the soundtrack, it was so well choreographed, it's something I definitely plan to buy when the DVD comes out. When I finally come out, it's cold, and I need to wait for another bus back. I'm coming down from my high, but I still feel a little groggy. After shivering for ten minutes I finally decide to accept it- it's cold, and there's nothing I can do about it. So I focus on my jaw, which is chattering, and I relax it. I relax the muscles in my back, arms, my legs, and I let the cold take over. It's not so bad, not so bad at all, I become one with the night.

So I'm going back to the shelter for a couple of hours today, then back to M's bar to see how I did in the football pool. I'm going to win something someday. I have to. I also want to catch the day of the dead procession on Mission tonight. I don't have anything to contribute, I really don't want to give up any photos, but maybe being there and thinking of those lost will be enough. J also gave me half a joint, but the timing needs to be right.....

0 comments so far

music:

new order, blue monday - gotta love club 977 80's channel

night life:

mellow, please, mellow. i need to work tomorrow

sex life:

dead men don't have sex, shouldn't

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!