Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-04 - 7:17 a.m.

"Lord have mercy, the bars were open this morning, they must've been voting for the president or something..." X

Today, a month after an awful statewide election, we get to decide who gets to be mayor of San Francisco. There will most likely be a run-off.

I can't believe the number of people who proudly say they don't vote. That there's no point. I've made few points in my life. I'm the proud supporter of lost causes since I first voted for Jesse Jackson in a primary in 1984. I vote anyway, because I have a voice, and somewhere I believe it is heard, even if it's laughed at.

This is the most undecided I've been on an election day. Ever. Since I'm relatively new to the city, I feel I'm not as clued into local politics here. The candidate I'm most familiar with is Tom Ammiano, but I've been hearing wonderful things about Matt Gonzalez, and from people I respect. So I woke up this morning thinking he might be the guy.

I went to my usual Monday hang-out last night, and it seemed all the gay boys were avoiding me like the plague. I guess it must have been that little heterosexual episode I had the other night. They'll get over it, damn it. If they don't know me by now.....

On Sunday, I got rained on at a Day of the Dead procession. After leaving my volunteer gig at the SPCA, I stopped by M's bar for a little drink and a chance to chill out, then took off around 7. J, a friend who hangs out at the bar, impulsively decided to accompany me.

It was fun, I wasn't as plugged into all the things going on, but at the right time, the procession caught up to us - a group of aztec dancers were doing their aztec aerobics at the intersection of Mission and 25th Street, and a short while away was a steel drum band. It started raining harder and harder, and it was cold, so we decided that was enough respect for our ancestors for this year - we didn't want to catch pneumonia and join them.

After a three-day weekend, work seemed absolutely boring in comparison. I set up a registration database for an event my office is organizing. Someone working on the design of it decided to remove a bunch of tags I needed to make it work, then writes me an email on Friday asking me what the problem is. It took about five minutes to fix. Did a little flash design, set up my first secure server, worked out some legal b.s. for the usage of a corporate logo. It's really strange balancing all these worlds. Most of the folks I hang with don't even use computers, don't even own them.

In some cases, they actively hated the whole dot-com thing. In this neighborhood, it's popular to hate yuppies and hate everything related to that period. Hee, hee, if they only knew how much I personally benefitted from the internet. Not necessarily in financial terms, but in direction in life. It actually gave me a career - I stopped jumping from random job to random job.

But I'll have to explain that some other time. I need to get my grungy ass into the shower, vote, finish charging up my laptop, and head out to the train for my long ride to work.

0 comments so far

music:

One night love affair, Bryan Adams

night life:

I'll pass, thanks...

sex life:

Gotta get some lube from Good Vibrations

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!