Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-07 - 11:53 a.m.

So a friend called out of the blue yesterday afternoon and told me she was in town. Did I want to have a drink that evening? Silly question. I met her at R, my usual haunt, and the Thursday night crew was in full force. We broke off from the group to have dinner and catch up on things in the restaurant section.

It seems O, my cute little friend, has been stuck in Indiana for a few years. She went there to follow her husband, a wonderful writer but a complete moron in the relationship department. It was a last-ditch effort to make her marriage work, but what doesn't work in SF really doesn't work in Indiana, and she filed for divorce. She's free now, but she has a great job, but misses California terribly. Who wouldn't?

Anyway, all my friends loved her. It was a litmus test. She's a christian, I've known that for a while, but I've been curious about what kind of christian. Was she Jerry Falwell in drag? Was it because of her ex, and now she's up for a little wilding? Well, the big test came when my friend, G, plopped down in our booth with us and started spilling his guts about the end of his 9 year relationship with C, who happened to be sitting in the bar. She seemed a little surprised, but went with it. I spoke to her about it a little later. It didn't seem to bother her at all, and let me know that she's not one of those homophobic hate-filled christians out to save the world. That was a relief. The second test came when she spoke with J, my friend who works at Planned Parenthood. If she could stand her, everything was going to go well.

Yes, sodomites, baby-killers, transexuals, artists, that's my world! A friend/coworker of mine has been pushing me towards her for a while now. I have to admit to myself, at least a couple of times during the evening, I found myself thinking, wow, I'm really attracted to her. But then there's all that baggage, the christianity, the marriage, the fact that she's from Texas!

Sigh, if things had only gone right, she'd be working down the hall from me. She applied for a job in my office. She didn't get it - they hired a boob. That's been a trend, lately. "Nuff said on that.

After I walked her back to her car, I rushed down to M's bar to set some stuff straight. I got a message from her that afternoon - her smoke machine was missing, and she heard that I and another friend had been moving it. I never touched her machine, and wanted to make that clear ASAP so she could figure out what really happened to it.

By the time I got to her bar, the mystery was solve, and her fog machine was sitting under the bar, ready to go home until next halloween. I know what I'm getting her for christmas - fog juice!

She wants to go to Kelly's Mission Rock for dinner sometime soon. I'm up for that! It's a great place. It'll be a thank-you present for helping out with all the halloween festivities.

Anyway, I need to jump in the shower. It's a rainy day in the city, and I can't decide what to do. The Matrix is showing at the IMAX theatre, but I also have an urge to go to Swan Oyster Depot for some chowder and a seafood cocktail. I love that little joint - just a hole in the wall for over fifty years, and there's always a line going out the door. It's easier getting a seat when you're by yourself, though. Then it's off to El Rio for their fabulous happy hour.

0 comments so far

music:

boy's don't cry, the cure

night life:

meeting I at the R tonight

sex life:

fending off I's advances after a couple of margaritas

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!