Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-18 - 11:42 a.m.

Sheesh, I'm on the seventh week of this damn cold, and all I can do is laugh. I tried to make an appointment last week with my doctor's office, and I can't even get see someone until next Friday. I do think it's actually getting better, though - the sinus attacks, tears, runny nose, are coming less frequently and less severely.

My new DVD, the correct one this time, finally arrived yesterday. It was a surprise - my doorbell rang! I almost never entertain at home, and rarely invite people over, so when my bell rang, I had a panic attack. My youngest cat went down the hall way to investigate, and I had just come out of the shower and had to hustle to get some clothes on. I ran downstairs, and got the package from the postman.

I was on my way to the shelter, my first time in a couple of weeks, so I could only skim and fast-forward through it to see what the scene was like. It was decent - I just love this girl Kelly and think she has a beautiful presence about her. It's strange, though, I can't really say what makes me crazy about her.

I helped my friend M close her bar last night. It's really quite tedious work. People think bartending is so much fun, but it's really quite stressful and there are a lot of tasks you have to perform behind the scenes. Stocking beer bottles, closing things, picking up stuff that people dropped on the bar, limes that people sucked on, straws that were in people's mouths. When you realize how quickly you have to clean glasses, you start to wonder just how clean they are.

We went to a funeral on Friday. A mutual friend's mother passed away. They lived in Bernal Heights for years, with deep roots like that, there were quite a few people there. The funny thing about living in San Francisco is that if you die, they don't bury you there. There's no room. You wind up in Colma or South City. The only cemetary I know is four blocks away, behind the Mission Dolores. I walked around those grounds once. I compulsively bought a candle, and wanted to light it at the altar for my mother, whose health had deteriorated quite a bit at the time.

I was shocked to see that the plots were so small. I had to wonder if they buried people vertically, or if they were just pretty small. It's amazing to see the dates on those tombstones - 3, 4 hundred years back! I finally found the little store where they sell the candles, and bought one. The Mission's not only a functioning church, it's also a tourist attraction, so it's sometimes odd to see people walking around while other's are worshipping. I lit my candle and kneeled, and people photographed me! A couple of men just stood and talked while standing behind me. It's really quite curious.

Okay, I'm off. I need to enjoy the day. I almost want to see clouds - it's often warmer on cloudy days.

0 comments so far

music:

night life:

sex life:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!