Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-11-12 - 6:32 a.m.

Okay, at least once in a while I get a break.

My neighbor downstairs is moving out, a beautiful arab woman. I think I saw her maybe three times in the last year. She had a boyfriend, and she basically lived with him, but stopped in once in a while, if only to do her laundry. I remember when the gas main was turned off once, the PG&E work crew left notes on our door asking us to schedule an appointment to have our stove's pilot lights turned back on. Her note stayed on her door for nearly three weeks.

I know, it's none of my business, but it became a laugh, because she lived on the first floor, and it was the first apartment you saw when you entered the building. So anyway, she was moving out, and our eyes locked and we pretty much said hello and goodbye in the same sentence. I noticed a bunch of stuff in the lobby with notes attached to them, and I made a mental note to check it out later.

I went up stairs and put away my laptop and changed quickly. I planned to run over to the R bar for a margarita. On my way out, she was gone, so I took a little time to scan the stuff. The signs all read "take me, please." Oh, if only that sign was on her - okay, I can daydream, can't I?

There was a tv stand, a chrome rack, and a futon. I didn't need the stand, but I thought I could put the rack in my kitchen. I took a look at the futon - it looked pretty low-key, not too attractive. I decided to pick up the rack on my way back in, if it wasn't already claimed.

I got to the bar, and was shocked to see an old crush, waiting for me! I was shocked - she was chatting with a couple of girls, and casually looked back to the door and smiled. She was the girl I kissed a couple of weeks ago, and I didn't get her number. I got it, but suddenly felt boxed-in. I wanted to socialize, but now I felt obligated to stay with her. I could see this guy I slept with a few months ago, and suddenly I just needed to leave. I knew he would be leaving soon, probably heading to Esta Noche, but it wasn't just him. It was the way everyone looked at us, like we're a couple. I just don't know if I'm ready for that. I looked at her, and she looked back at me with this look that told me to run out the door.

I needed to talk with her, but this bar wasn't the appropriate place. I got her number, told her I needed to talk to my mother - which was true - and proceeded to leave with her. We split up a block away. I got back into the lobby, picked up the rack, and brought it up to the fourth floor. I called my mother - she had just got out of the hospital recently, and we chatted for a few minutes. I then headed back to the bar, and it was a totally different scene - it seemed like two thirds of the crowd had left. My friend K, and her friend (another crush, but she always seemed kind of distant) were sitting at the bar. I talked with them a while. When her friend found out I worked in web tech, her tone suddenly changed, since that was something she was checking out. I told her to stay in touch, and told her to feel free to talk to me if she had any questions about the field. In my head, I could hear that old song, "I'm gonna make you love me."

Anyway, I eventually left the bar, and when I got back to the lobby of my apartment building, I felt up the futon, and realized it was practically new, which made sense when I realized she never lived in the apartment, so I proceeded to develop a plan to bring it up to my apartment. I could only get the mattress upstairs. The frame was too big to get around the winding stair-case, and I needed an allen wrench to open break it into two pieces. I worked on it again yesterday morning, and now it's sitting in my hallway. I plan on re-assembling it in my living room during the weekend.

What luck! I didn't have a living room. I just had a lawn chair in front of my tv over the last year or so, and I never got around to buying a couch.

And guess what? I had another big break - I was "attending" an on-line seminar. At the end of the seminar, they held a drawing for free software - and I won! I feel something is out there, my mojo is working for me. I have a futon, I have software, now all I need is love. There's a woman out there who likes me, but she's just not the one.

Which hurts.

0 comments so far

music:

l.a. woman, the doors

night life:

no thanks, i gotta sleep in and beat this fuckin' cough!

sex life:

transsexual beauty queens - great video!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!