Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-05 - 4:21 p.m.

Ahhhhh....yes. Friday. The beginning of the weekend.

This week was pretty big for me. I made a decision that will pretty much change the course of my life. After working for nearly 13 years in the same office, I've decided it's time to move on. It's really hard, since I'm so comfortable there. I mean, I get 2 days of vacation a month, 3 days of personal time off, even a birthday holiday. I have a private office, I'm even getting a laptop. What, am I crazy?

Just a little. I like my boss on a personal level, but he's an awful boss, just terrible. I've always enjoyed working for people who are real leaders, people I respect and look up to. People with a point of view. I've been fortunate to see three of those in the time I've been out in the workforce, but I've seen some terrible ones, as well, and this guy's the worst. He's just too disorganized, incapable of communicating his ideas, incapable of leading people.

The problem is of course, the job market in the bay area. it's really hard to find a job right now, and anything I'd find would most likerly include a pay cut. The other option, of course, is to just coast. Just do my job, and stop trying to do the best I can do in my professionj. Unfortunately, that's just not my style, but I gotta be inspired.

Anyway, I was so angry and depressed I made it to my nearest bar and got trashed. Not a good way to handle the middle of the week, but I remember waking up and feeling just a little bit freer, realizing I didn't have to settle anymore.

Anyway, enough work drama. The girl that stood me up called. She wanted to party Monday night, but I had already committed to hang out with a couple of friends over dinner. My friend E's birthday is coming up, and he starts celebrating early. By the way, if you haven't eaten at Los Jarritos on 20th and Van Ness, I recommend heading down there, like right now. The food is awesome. I had trout cooked in oodles of garlic and butter. It was heaven. My friend E had the carne asada and my friend D had carnitas. After we finished, my friend E wanted dessert. dessert!"?!?! I was stuffed to the gills, and he wanted to eat some more. We settled on their delicious Mexican chocolate. It comes in a huge mug, and it warmed our tummies for the the walk home. I could barely keep my eyes open, but I realized that that woman had called me twice in the course of my dinner. I called her back later, and apologized and took a rain-check.

I also called my friend M. Her brithday is also next week, and her brother R is coming into tow, since his birthday is also next week. That's right, they're born just within a year of each other. That's three friends with birthdays next week. It's gonna be a long one.

0 comments so far

music:

night life:

sex life:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!