Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-22 - 11:30 a.m.

Oh, dear, what a day, what a night....

Brunch was fabulous, with the election for Empress and Emperor, the atmosphere at 18th and Castro was more electric than usual!

After enjoying the Pacific Benedict (unfortunately drowned in Hollandaisse sauce), M and I went over the the Pendulum to catch up on life and gossip. We eventually got to the bar she works at, gets into an argument with her boss, and quits on the spot! Like I said, what a day! It wasn't just the alcohol talking either. I don't want to get into all the details, but her boss, the owner of the bar, just married a crazy woman, a junky, really, who once got into a fight with M. Scratched her face off really bad. M and her boss had a verbal agreement to never have his wife in the bar when she was working, but this weekend he backed off on that, which led to the this mess. Sure, M has options, but at this time it's scary to be jobless.

I refuse to buy a DVD for more than $10, really, unless it's jammed with some special features. I just bought AI at Fry's for 9.99, mostly to study it's visual style. It's really a beautiful movie. I just watched the final three "scenes," where our little robot boy is given a choice to live out one perfect day. It's actually very touching, and it hits me on such a primal level. Who ever had a perfect day with their mom, a day with just you and her, with the entire universe put on hold?

Anyway, I also am loving the new Tori CDDVD combo, "Tales of a Librarian." The songs have been remixed/remastered, with three new songs and a performance DVD. The cover design is also amazing. A must-have if you're a fan, or even if you just want an introduction to her music.

It was one of the few CD's I've bought in the past couple of years. I swear I'm getting old, but not much new stuff interests me anymore. Buying the new tori collectin was such a chore - I went to Tower Records, and I realized I waited too long to buy the CD, and it was no longer offered at the discounted price. Well, I'd been in this situation many times before, so I knew what to do.

Just keep looking through every copy of the CD you want. The grunts who work there aren't that thorough. Eventually, you're likely to find one CD with the old price stickers. I found one! However, for he first time even, the moron at the cash register had the nerve to challenge me on it. He gave me a funny look, too, as if I had peeled off a sticker and stuck it on. I was ready to tell them to fuck off and leave the store when he called the manager over, but the manager told him to honor the price. Good call. However, to add insult to injury, the cashier then had trouble with my card, and needed to swipe it twice. Well, what should happen, but I look at my balance on-line, and find that I was charged twice for the freaking CD! Of course, I had to send it to the disputes department, and after three weaks, my credit card was finally credited for the amount of the purchase.

Now I read about Tower filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection. They have just brought it on themselves. I go there more out of loyalty than anything else. I've always gone there, but they treat customers like crap, keep a lousy assortment of stuff, and charge way too much for their product. I have no sympathy for them. At least, they're not blaming the internet and downloading, though I'm sure the RIAA would love them to say that's the problem. They're siting over-expansion, and passing by the monstrosity they constructed at Hillsdale mall every day on the train, I'd have to agree.

Okay, I'm getting tired of writing. My allergy medication is finally kicking in, so I can face the world again. I have to remember to tell you all how my friend and I were almost killed in a streetfight the other night. More on that later.....

0 comments so far

music:

Northern Lad, Tori

night life:

not tonight

sex life:

fantasizing while doing laundry tonight!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!