Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-10-08 - 12:41 p.m.

Strange, there's so much I love about living in one of these old San Franciscan Edwardians. I love the funky way the rooms are shaped, but I never know how to make best use of that space. I find it so quaint how few electrical outlets there are - but I have to use multiple extension cords to hook up all the crazy electronic stuff I own.

I guess I should feel fortunate - at least I have an outlet in my bathroom. A downstairs neighbor doesn't have any power, which drives her crazy. "Women just have to have electricity nowadays," she tells me.

I guess I also have to be aware that when you live in a building that's almost a hundred years old, that things fall apart sooner or later. After the first rain of the fall, the frame around one of my windows rotted through, and the glass pane fell through the bottom and landed in our backyard, four stories down.

It wasn't a particularly cold night, and my bedroom is pretty well insulated from the living room, so I found out when the apartment manager called the next morning, telling me he and a repair man would be coming by. What a shock. I'm relieved that no one was hurt. From what I gather, it must have happened during the afternoon, while we were all at work. I blame the damned Blue Angels, flying too low as always - they rattle the entire apartment, and scare the hell out of my cats.

Anyway, they found more dry rot, and they plan to replace the frames around the broken window, and two others.

Ah, yes, SF apartment living. For some crazy reason, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Okay, no food in my fridge, and even worse, no coffee, and I'm going off a few hours sleep. My Netflix arrival yesterday was the latest installment of the X-Men series, and I was hooked as soon as I popped the DVD into my laptop. I regret not seeing it in the theatres.

Okay, laundry cycle must be done. We have one washer and one dryer for a building with 14 units, so I need to move quickly or my stuff will get bumped. I'll drop things off in the dryer, head down the street for some coffee and a yummy hummus plate at Java Supreme, get my stuff out of the dryer, then see where my day takes me. I plan to head off to the SPCA for a volunteer shift, but I also need to head downtown for some shopping. I haven't seen the new San Francisco Centre yet. I'm dying to see what they've done with the Emporium dome.

0 comments so far

music:

night life:

sex life:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!