Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-03-18 - 1:53 p.m.

Ugh, recovering from my St. Patrick's Day drunk. It's a beautiful afternoon - cool, but sunny. I should head out there and enjoy it, so I'll keep this short.

Check out this video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KA57Pafq_NU

It just blew me away. Michael Stipe and REM, they were so young. It was weird seeing Stipe with a full head of hair.

Aah....the glory days of college radio. I could remember just being able to pick up a phone and request a song, and actually hearing it within an hour. I remember arguing with some friends over who was better, the Replacements and some other long-gone band. We'd get on the phone and request a battle of the bands, and the deejays would play a song by each one and people would call in and vote.

Days long gone. I just recently heard how the corporate machine that eats creativity has launched a battle against internet radio, raising royalty rates to a level that will crush this fledgling medium. Truly sad.

Just thinking about the old and the new.

0 comments so far

music:

Safety Dance, Men Without Hats

night life:

sex life:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!